• Fashion: Tween girls, interrupted

    When my editor asked me to put together a tween fashion column because she was struggling with what to buy her daughters, I may have freaked out a little. Fortunately I happened to have an ace up my sleeve in the form of Mila Eric-Lawrence, one of the most stylish people I know, who happens to be 11 - so I invited her to guest-edit my column.

    Tween girls are growing up in this digital era and are constantly connected to the world and their friends. When I asked Mila where she learns about fashion she said, "Basically, Instagram. But I don't really follow celebrities for fashion inspiration. I like Ariana Grande, but her songs only, because her fashion is ugh." And Mum? "I never used to listen to Mum but now we shop online together and choose things we're both happy with."

    Mila's favourite is Australian label Seed Heritage (coming to Auckland in April) and for denim, she's all about Just Jeans. And now she is older Mila's starting to look at Valley Girl and Glassons. Her wardrobe has pineapple prints, funky knitwear, washed-out denim, jumpsuits, crop tops and some metallics, which have inspired Get the Look this week. It meets that middle ground between being age-appropriate and what tweens think is cool.

    Then check out The Line Up for a few of Mila's Hot 5, including pineapple fashion from Seed, Lush Bath Bombs, jewellery from Equip, bedroom deco from Typo and her new favourite shoe - the all white Nike Air Max Thea.

    Being that in-between age does make shopping difficult for both parents and daughters.

    I'm sure you've heard your child say something similar to what Mila said next: "Style is important to me - I love it. I try and look okay all the time. I can't wear something that's really bad because it's just like, 'Oh my gosh no'!" Translation: parents take a deep breath.

    Advertisment Wholesale Shoe Hub Cheap Air Max Shoes Air Jordans Shoes Online

    Paris Windcheater $49.90
    Ocelot Overalls $69.90
    Quilted Bunny Bag $34.90
    All from Seed Heritage

     

    Get the Look: Tween Girl Style

     

    Outfit 1:
    Country Road Star print parka $109
    Expressions Wolf print tee $24.99, from Farmers
    Next Metallic skinny jean $36, from EziBuy
    Number One Shoes Nicky boot $29.99

    Outfit 2:
    Urban Angel Metallic super slouchy beanie $19.99
    Cotton On Teen Kiara fleece $39.95
    Just Jeans Junior Luxe biker jean $59.99
    adidas Top Ten Hi Yoda $100


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :