• Local teenager gaining recognition in fashion design world

    14-year-old Bradford Billingsley will be a freshman at Vestavia High School this fall.  But before he starts 9th grade he has a busy summer ahead of him the includes meeting with a national magazine and being part of a fashion show.

    Last year Billingsly won the competition on the tv show "Project Runway Threads" last month his designs were featured at Birmingham Fashion Week and Monday he is going to New York City to meet with Seventeen Magazine.

    Billingsley said he started sketching when he was just four years old.  His mom Dana Billingsley remembers it all starting after a trip to Hooters when he was a child.  The next day he was drawing.  "I look over his shoulder and we have itty bitty orange shorts with an itty bitty shirt with cleavage and I tell his sister 'oh he pays way too much attention to details,'" said Dana.


    Advertisment Cheap Air Max 2015 Wholesale Free Run Air Jordan Retro Shoe Cheapest Roshe Run Replica Shoes Outlet

    Local teenager gaining recognition in fashion design world


    Billingsley kept drawing as he got older, things like celebrities outfits and even wedding dresses.  His mom said, "for his 8-year-old birthday I asked him what he wanted on his cake and he said a wedding dress, well you get what you want for your birthday and the cake comes back he he said, 'I could have drawn that a lot better than that.'"

    Now at 14 Billingsley has created a collection for Birmingham Fashion Week and is busy on his next project.  "I'm actually working on a few different things for a fashion show I'm doing in Carthage, Mississippi," said Billingsley

    He does it all while also spending his days how most 14-year-olds do, at school.  "I definitely have a lot of late nights where I'm working on different designs. I get my homework done during the day or at night and then really late night I start working on my designs."

    He said those late nights are worth it so that one day he can have his own brand.  "I'd love to be shown at New York Fashion Week, I'd love that, that's one of my biggest goals."

    After his trip to New York City to meet with Seventeen Magazine Billingsley will go to Mississippi for a fashion show and then to L.A. for a fashion camp.


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :