• Mobile Fashion Week junior designer style profile: Rekha Marie Berry

    The freshest young local designers are getting a shot at showing a collection at the fifth annual Mobile Fashion Week in September. 

     

    MFW recently introduced a new Junior Design Sponsorship and invited all Mobile and Baldwin County high school students aspiring to a career in the fashion world to apply. The two winners will watch their creations walk the runway at Mobile Fashion Week.

     

    Four students applied, and we're introducing them all with individual mini-profiles we'll post prior to the selection of the winners later this month.

     

    The victorious designers will be determined by the Mobile Fashion Week board and AL.com readers.

     

    Our fourth and final style profile subject is McGill Toolen Catholic High School junior Rekha Marie Berry, 17. 

     

    Style inspiration

     

    Beyonce. Every time she appears, her outfit makes a statement. She is always experimenting and pushing the envelope. She has the gift to go from sweet and demure to fierce and dangerous without hesitation. I love that she is limitless.

     

    Fashion mentor

     

    (Regional publicist) Carlisha Hartzog. I admire her creativity and love her work and energy. She has supported me unconditionally through my journey over the years. She is a true inspiration to me.

     

    Favorite fashion website or publication

     

    I read and subscribe to "Seventeen."  I like that the fashion showcased in it is age-appropriate for me.

     

    What I love most about designing is...

     

    It makes me happy!  I want to be able to do it every day and share that awesome feeling of happiness.

     

    When and how did you know you were interested in fashion design?

     

    My mom is from Souteast Asia, so I grew up loving beautiful textiles and fabrics. And my grandmother was always gracious enough to send me clothes from the Far East. Every time, I dressed up in one of those outfits, I felt like a princess.  I would like my collection to be a fusion of east and west. 

     

    I want to be in Mobile Fashion Week because....

     

    Advertisment

    Cheap Nike Sneakers Cheap Air Jordan 11 Cheap Air Max 2015 Cheap Free Run Cheap Kevin Druant 7

     

     I love what MFW stands for and what the proceeds do for our community. This is an opportunity to be involved in something beautiful and grand.

     

    My prospective MFW collection in three words 

     

    Stylish, energetic and vibrant.

     

    Fashion ambition

     

    To create unique, colorful, yet elegant pieces that that actually fit and bring out the best in each body type. I also aspire to be a part of the community that gives back. 


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :